The Carmes Cemetery is located on a site that has been occupied since the creation of the Roman city of Augustonemetum

The ancient thoroughfare between Vichy and Limoges runs through the site, which also adjoins the Via Agrippa, a major Roman road crossing Gaul from east to west. In Roman times, Augustonemetum was an important enough stopping point to feature on the Peutinger Table, a huge map of the Roman Empire and lands conquered by Alexander the Great as far away as India. The site has been used for funerary purposes since the first centuries AD.
There is evidence of a monastery in the 10th century, then again at the end of the 12th century. In the 17th century, the Order of the Discalced Carmelites occupied the site. A century later, the Carmelite Chapel was rebuilt in a baroque style that was unique in Clermont-Ferrand. In 1816, Clermont-Ferrand City Council purchased part of the former Carmelite site and the land was returned to its original function as a cemetery.
The new cemetery was inaugurated on 21 July 1816. In 1846, the first extension of the cemetery took it south of the old Roman road up to the modern-day Chaussée Claudius. The last extension commenced in 1908 with the purchase of the Pré Bertrand, a field to the north of the river Tiretaine.
It is no surprise that this iconic cemetery became the site of the Jewish section and the military sections for the French, German, English and New Zealand soldiers who died in the two world wars.

More info :

Get QR code